Home / Chakras



Meditation is a primary tool for awakening chakras. The chakras are located to colours, geometric shapes (yantras), sounds, elements, animal symbols and presiding deities. Each chakra is also described as having a number of petals. These are symbolic representations to provide the keys to open the wheels. The colours indicate the relative vibration of the chakras, moving from the slowest at the base of the spine to the most rapid at the top of the head.



The Pituitary Gland is associated with the energy center at the top of the head, the seventh Chakra. This Chakra is known as the Crown Chakra. It is the crossover point between the physical body and the Soul. Consciousness is associated with this Chakra.


The Pineal Gland is your Third Eye. It is sometimes referred to as the magic eye. Stimulation of this gland leads to ESP (perceiving non-physical energy as information). This gland is able to absorb light energy, even though it is located deep within the brain. This is because these higher  forms of light energy exist in an energy state that is more refined and quite beyond the physical.


The Throat Chakra is a powerful energy center. Its gland is the Thyroid. The Throat Chakras , associated with Sound(vibration). In metaphysical terms, sound is one of the primary energies of the Universe. With our voices we create sound energy. Sound moves matter.


The Heart Chakra is the center of our energy system. Its gland is the Thymus. The Heart Chakra helps balance the lower primal forms of Life Force energy with the higher forms of light Energy.


The Solar Plexus is the body’s center of life giving vitality. It works with the Adrenal Gland. It is known to Mystics and Yogis around the world as the seat of the Will. According to the system of the Native Americans, it is the center of our being. The Solar Plexus works with the Third Eye to draw light energy into our system. Your solar plexus is known to radiate and absorb energy.


The energy center below your Solar Plexus is associated with the Spleen and the Ovaries. This Chakra is a basic Life Force center and is important to the general vitality of the organs in the Lower body. Strength in this energy center is necessary for controlling out of body experiences.


The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with the sexual organs. The Root Chakra is your connection with the Mother Earth and her primal Life Force energy. Some of the most potent forms of Yoga concentrate on awakening this energy. This energy is known by the ancient sanskrit word; Kundalini.

The word Chakra means spinning energy, or wheel of energy. Chakras are centres of activity for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life energies.

Muladra (Base) Red Earth Lam
Svadisthana (Sacral) Orange Water Vam
Manipura (Solar Plexus) Yellow Fire Ram
Anahata (Heart) Green Air Yam
Vishuddi (Throat) Blue Akasa (Prana) Ham
Ajna (Brow) Indigo None or Light Om
Sahasra (Crown) Violet None or Thought

Red is strong and forceful
is less aggresive but nevertheless fiery
is solar and warming
is cool and promotes natural growth
is the colour of healing
is expansive
is associated with spiritual expansion and aspirations